Register for the 2022 European Worm Meeting

Dear friends and colleagues,

The European Worm Meeting will once again take place in person this summer, July 27-30 2022 in Vienna. See our poster for our line-up of exciting invited speakers. To register and submit your abstract please visit the meeting website:

Our deadlines are as follows:
Meeting registration: 31 May
Abstract submission: 1 June (for consideration for a talk)/ 1 July (poster only)

Please note that this meeting will follow on directly from CeNeuro 2022 at the same venue. 

We hope to see many of you there, so please spread the news to anyone who might be interested.

Many thanks & best wishes,

The EWM2022 organizing team:
Alex Dammermann
Mario de Bono
Verena Jantsch

CeNeuro 2022 will finally take place in-person in July!

Dear friends of worm neurobiology, 

After a long corona break it is time to meet and discuss again!
CeNeuro 2022 will finally take place as an in-person meeting at the University of Vienna July 24-27, 2022! Register here.

It would be great to see as many of you as possible in Vienna this summer, forward this link to interested colleagues, students, and postdocs.

Remember these deadlines:
Registration deadline will be May 22nd  
Abstract submission deadline will be May 15th

Best regards,
The organizers of C. elegans Neuro 2022 

C. elegans mutation accumulation lines ready soon

Ladies and Gentlemen,

We are writing to announce that the C. elegans mutation accumulation lines for which we wrote a grant proposal back in 2017 and for which you all generously provided letters of support are now almost ready for public dissemination.  First things first: THANK YOU ALL! We surely would not have been able to do this project without your kind support.  Details follow.  Please feel free to advertise this resource to your friends and neighbors, and to think up cool things to do with them.  We made them for everyone to use!

-Charlie Baer (University of Florida) and Vaishali Katju (Texas A&M University / Uppsala University, Sweden)

C. elegans mutation accumulation (MA) lines / community resource:

A set of ~1000 C. elegans spontaneous mutation accumulation (MA) lines will be publicly available in the next few months.  The lines are derived from six starting genotypes (strain list below) and have been maintained under standard conditions for a maximum of 300 generations (Gmax=300) of single-individual transfer (i.e., Ne≈1).  For each nearly-isogenic strain, we initiated two sets of 100 MA lines; one set maintained in the Baer lab at the University of Florida and one set maintained in the Katju lab at Texas A&M.  Lines have been cryopreserved at 50-generation intervals.  We also cryopreserved a set of 48 replicate “pseudolines” (PS lines) at the outset of the experiment; PS lines are identical to the MA lines except they have only diverged from the ancestor for ~3 generations rather than ~300 generations.  The PS lines have been and the Gmax=300 lines will be cryopreserved in sets of 48 lines, which can be shipped frozen upon request.  Cryopreserved intermediate generations are also available but have not been cryopreserved in sets.  Plans are afoot to sequence the genomes of the lines; sequence data will be made public as it is collected.  Please direct inquiries to Charles Baer (  Funding provided by NIH award GM127433.  

Announcing the Mentor-Mentee matches for 2022

With gratitude to all those who agreed to be mentors, and with thanks to the C. elegans Community Mentor Match program committee, we announce this year’s mentor-mentee matches. 

Read more about the program rollout

Here’s a complete list of all 2022 matches.

To those of you who offered to mentor but were not selected for a match this year, undoubtedly there will be opportunities in the future!! In the meantime, please stay tuned for these and other opportunities to serve the community. 

For those mentors and mentees who did match, the committee will contact you later in the year to see how it is going. We will also solicit additional feedback to improve the program for the future. 

Best wishes, 

Jane Hubbard and Meera Sundaram (2021-22 co-chairs)